Follow up on the plan: Solving Paleo Puzzles

Previously, I posted my plans (here) to go 60-70% paleo by the end of last week.  Well, I think it’s safe to say that I achieved that. YAY!  Part of the reason I haven’t posted in awhile was that I was too busy cooking. 🙂

The good: I found some things that I really enjoy eating, including kale and bacon, breakfast sausages, green fajita chicken, and more. I also found everything I needed for a week’s worth of paleo cooking in just two grocery stores.

The bad: Not everyone in my family enjoys the same things I do. Likewise, I don’t enjoy some of their favorites.  This is going to be a hard adjustment for all of us. The flavors, textures, and organization of meals is radically different. My family is used to the evening meal including a meat, vegetable, and a starch with something sweet to finish it off (fruit or a dessert). Putting a satisfying meal together is probably the hardest part right now.

The ugly: I and one other family member in particular are teaming up to plan and cook all the meals.  By the end of the week, we were both overwhelmed at the amount of time we had spent in the kitchen.  We started the week by eating maybe 80-90% paleo everyday. By the weekend, we were lucky to eat 50% paleo. We are determined to get organized and come up with a plan to prep most of the food in one day, and then we won’t be so overwhelmed all week long.  It’s a learning process!

This past Saturday, I took a younger family member to the local Museum of Natural Science.  In the section on paleontology (think dinosaur bones), there was a board with pictures of men digging up and examining fossils. The title of the board was “Solving Paleo Puzzles.”  I laughed and took a pic to send to my family.  We all feel like we’re working as hard as those guys out in the field to solve a different kind of paleo puzzle. 🙂  However, I think we are as determined as any scientist!

Leave a Reply

