Why Paleo?

Why not?

Do I agree with the theories behind the diet? Let’s just say I’m skeptical. Incredibly. Skeptical.  Even if I wasn’t, my friend who majored in anthropology would be happy to be skeptical for me.

Here’s what I’m thinking:

  • The Paleo diet is incredibly limiting.  Which means I can rule out a bunch of foods at once. As I slowly add them back into my diet (after 3 months without any of them), I will have a better chance of figuring out what, if any, foods or types of foods have an adverse affect on me.
  • Most of the foods on the off-limits list are known to cause digestion problems: gluten, legumes, refined sugar, dairy, etc.  All of these have been proven to cause problems in some people.  Like many people with Fibromyalgia, I have symptoms of Irritable Bowel Syndrome. I’m also Lactose Intolerant.  Solving digestive problems seems like a great place to start.
  • I’ve run into too many people who have improved their health by changing their diet.  I’ve heard so many stories about how limiting intake of gluten or processed sugars have reduced people’s pain and increased their energy.  I had one friend who even reduced his symptoms of dyslexia by getting off sugar!! I’ve always been a skeptic of holistic methods.  I’ve run into enough quacks who have “the cure” for my Fibro to become a cynic.  However, I can’t argue with people I know, love, and trust who have seen real improvements in their life.  All of the foods they’ve mentioned taking out of their diets are foods that aren’t allowed in the Paleo plan.
Leave a Reply

